15.3 C
New York
Tuesday, March 21, 2023

Big Names Honored at CFDA Fashion Awards 2022

Kim Kardashian was honored at the Council of Fashion Designers of America’s fashion awards on Monday (November 7, 2022) for her line of shapewear and used the honor to call on designers to be inclusive of all body shapes. .

Kardashian received the first Innovation Award presented by Amazon Fashion for her shapewear brand SKIMS. Kardashian was also joined by co-founder and CEO Jens Grede and founding partner and chief product officer Emma Grede to accept the inaugural award.

“I mean, if you were to ask my teenage self if I thought this is where I’d be, absolutely not. I’m so grateful. I pinch myself all the time just thinking about these amazing opportunities and things that have come my way. And I’m so proud of my Skims team who have worked so hard,” Kardashian said after posing on the white carpet. “So to get an award like this, I understand how important it is and the whole team does it, and I invited you to sit down with us tonight and I’m so excited to receive this.”

The fashion industry’s equivalent of the Oscars took place in person on Monday night and was hosted by designers and CFDA members Joseph Altuzarra, Gabriela Hearst, Aurora James, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough.

Martha Stewart presented the award to Kardashian, who had to make a quick announcement when a phone rang just before she started speaking. “Mom, turn off your phone,” Kardashian told Jenner to laughter from the audience.

The Kardashians were fully represented in the show, with Jenner, Khloe Kardashian and Kendall Jenner watching as their sister accepted her honor.

Bradley Cooper, Trevor Noah, Amy Schumer, Christina Ricci and Kerry Washington were among the presenters on a night where a variety of designers took home trophies and Lenny Kravitz received the CFDA Fashion Icon Award.

“I’m very honored. I’m grateful,” Kravitz told the Associated Press. “I think we should all be grateful that we’re here tonight celebrating fashion and art and, you know, having the freedom to do that and enjoy each other. It’s a beautiful night.”

Last year, Zendaya was the youngest person to win the Icon award. Previous recipients have included Beyoncé, Lady Gaga, Pharrell Williams, Rihanna and Jennifer Lopez.

Cher also made a surprise appearance to present an honor to hairstylist Patti Wilson. The Accessories Design Award went to Raúl López and the Emerging American Designer Award went to Elena Vélez.

The Board of Trustees Award was presented to Virgil Abloh to honor the late designer’s contribution to world fashion.

Singer and actress Janelle Monáe said that Abloh “will always live forever”.

“It was just connected. You just had a sense that it was connected to the source. And a lot of people that it inspired. So for that, it will always be honored. And I will do my best to honor it.” also.”

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles